Life Lessons

Being at the ripe age of 28, I haven’t learned much in my life so far. I grew up in a well developed community, went to pretty good schools, and never went without any physical necessities. However, the funny yet amazing this about life is that we all lead various paths and are all seeking a different journey. I’m no Einstein or Mother Teresa, but I’ve learned a few things along the way that may help or comfort some of you, view a different perspective, or think I’m a complete pyscho path 😉

  • School IS important. Whether  you’re in 2nd, 7th, 10th, or a college student…take school seriously. I got all A’s and a few B’s up until my parent’s divorce. After that, report cards were overlooked. Sometimes I wonder if they would have even noticed if I failed a class! Just kidding,…Not 😉 Pay attention in math class, and if you don’t understand ask…then ask again. English is imperative. You can get through life without knowing the Quadradic formula…but if you don’t know the fucking difference between “there” “their” and “they’re” or “to” and “too” or “your” and “you’re”…then please do yourself a favor NOW and buy a phonics book. It irks me when people say that “college wasn’t for them”. Ok, I get that. I was a horrible college student throughout the first half of my degree, but it was more of a personal endeavor for me, and I knew it was something that no one could ever take away from me. If college isn’t for you- that’s totally fine…but have a fricking plan then. Don’t be a bum or expect someone to give you a job or mooch off others. Annoying.
001

My mom took a picture of us on the first day of every new school year. This was my senior year…looks like I wanted to throw my water bottle at her, haha.

 

  • Accounting is not THAT important. I honestly wish I were good in accounting as I know it’s a great field in the job market, but don’t get your panties in a wad. I failed it the first time and passed it the second time with an A…but have NOT used any of it since. Just get through the class..

 

  • You will not be friends with everyone forever. I don’t even know how to label myself in school. Maybe others can label me more appropriately…who knows. As mentioned above, I spent most of my time at Valpo and spent my junior and senior year at Wheeler and had an array of friends from various crowds. My best friend since 6th grade is still my BFF now, but honestly, most friends have fallen through the cracks and I’ve either rekindled friendships from the past or made new ones. Things change, people change, priorities change, lifestyles change.

*If things change, try to reach out…and if shit continues to be the same…let it go. TJ, who was my boyfriend at the time, told me a few months into our relationship who he thought was true and not. This initially pissed me off, but I came to realize that he has a knack for reading people, and you know what? He was right! Accept it and move on.

1929662_574484241948_2933_n

Love the posters

  • Forgive. Long ass story short- my mom went through 8 years of an extremely toxic relationship, and I wasn’t close with my dad during this time. Time, living with my aunt and uncle, and therapy helped me move past the blame game and resentfulness and into finally gaining ground into acceptance. You will feel better when you understand that you cannot change people or situations, but you can control how you react to them.
215252_10102433499210008_1320133309_n

My mom and I.

 

  • You will 98% more than likely not marry your teenage boyfriend. So take a gigantic chill pill. We all know people that have been with their boyfriends since they were like 12, and while that’s great and all, I honestly don’t give a hoot. Life and love is not about how long you’ve been together- the quality and trueness of your relationship is what counts.

If you marry your high school sweetheart, that’s absolutely wonderful. I was with mine for eight years and my husband married his high school girlfriend. We had fabulous times and far from great moments. Nonetheless, we were both so incredibly young (my relationship started when I was fifteen!), and sometimes our outlooks, values, and goals change. Other times they don’t and they persevere. There are couples that stick together because of the comfort and security or apprehension of change, while others choose to go their separate ways. Both decisions are okay as long as you have no regrets.What annoys me is that some people feel as though they deserve a trophy because they’ve been together so long. What does it matter? I actually feel a bit sorry for those who never got to date more than one person (don’t hate me). I met Tyler about a month after I turned 24 (he was 26, but turning 27 the following month). Of course it would have been awesome to meet him sooner so I could love him longer, but I honestly believe our timing was perfect.

61551_154102521289934_2953927_n

A few months in. It’s now a rare occasion to see Tyler with this much facial hair!

 

I could go on, but I’ll stop here for now. As mentioned above, these things are merely my personal opinion.

Do you agree or disagree with what I discussed?

What are some things you’ve learned in the past ten years?